AOC V-Board of Directors

Special Meeting

Association of Old Crows

1001 N. Fairfax St., Suite 300 Alexandria, VA 22314

MINUTES

9 August 2022

THOSE PRESENT

Executive Committee		
🕿 Glenn "Powder" Carlson, P	resident	☎ Brian "Hinks" Hinkley, President-Elect
Mark Schallheim, Secretary	,	☐ Greg "Patch Patschke, Treasurer
☐ Dr. Sue Robertson		Shelley Frost, Executive Director
At Large Directors		Regional Directors
2022		2023
Sharon Lyczak		Karen Brigance, Southern
Dr. Haruko Kawahigashi		Myles Murphy, Northeast
		Turgen Opfer, International II
2023		
☐ Greg "Patch Patschke		2024
Michael Ryan		☐ Dennis Monahan, Mid Atlantic
		Wayne Shaw, Mountain Western
2024		Tim Utt, Central
Nino Amoroso		D 1.40
☐ Steve Oatman		Board of Governors (non-Voting) 2024
Appointed Directors		☐ Gary Lyke
2022		☐ Chuck Quintero
☐ Tuhin Das		Staff and Others (non-
		Voting)
Regional Directors		Shelley Frost
2022		☎ Glorianne O'Neilin
Tick Lu, Pacific		Thollann Schwartz
☐ Dr. Sue Robertson, International I		☎ Ken Miller
Mark Schallheim, Northwest		Christine Armstrong
Legend: ✓ Present	□ Not Present	Present by Zoom/Telephone

CALL TO ORDER

President Carlson welcomed the Board and brought up the need for the Board to review and support the 59th AOC International Symposium and Convention. He requested that Secretary Schallheim confirm that a **QUORUM** was in attendance. With meeting notice having been given and with a **QUORUM** present, the meeting **CONVENED** at 1702E, Thursday, 09 August 2022 by Teleconference (Zoom and telephone).

CONVENTION COMMITTEE

President Carlson presented that we are falling behind in receiving feedback from planned speakers. He asked the Board to help in contacting keynote speakers they know, and to help with obtaining feedback and acceptance for them to speak at this year's Symposium. He reviewed this year's planned keynote speakers who have been invited, but have not yet responded. He asked for Directors to help out with the following results:

- ADM Chas Richard, USSTRATCOM
 - o Bourque will contact and help support Convention Committee.
- Dr. Craig Martell, Chief Digital and Artificial Intelligence Officer, DoD
 - o Utt will contact and help support Convention Committee.
- General David Berger, Commandant of the Marine Corps
 - Still need to follow-up on.
- Bill LaPlante, USD(A&S) has confirmed
- VCNO, ADM Lisa Franchetti (or VADM Kelly Aeschabach, who works for ADM Franchetti)
 - President-Elect Hinkley will contact VADM Kelly Aeschabach
- NATO ACT Commander Général Philippe Lavigne
 - Dr. Andrews and the French Chapter are supporting Convention Committee, but his trip to US is unlikely
- Eric Haseltine, former CTO of NSA, former Director for Disney Imagination Innovation offered to speak on "How to Get Bureaucracies to Innovate" and has asked for \$15,000 plus travel expenses
 - Brigadier General Guy Walsh (Ret) will help support Convention Committee and check with industry members to see if they can help defray this cost. It was MOVED and SECONDED (Carlson/Bourque) to approve this one-time speaker cost for Eric Haseltine, if necessary. MOTION PASSED, unanimously.

President Carlson reviewed this year's planned spotlight speakers who have confirmed and are developing speaker panel with no actions required at this time:

- Session 1: EP / Passive Sensing / Leverage, Lead: Dave Tremper
- Session 2: Strategy Meets The Hill, Lead: Katy Nazaretova, Forza DC
- Session 3: Where To From Here, Lead: Chris O'Donnell

He also reviewed this year's planned breakout speakers who have confirmed and are developing speaker panel with no actions required at this time, but with a suggestion to revisit in 2 weeks:

- <u>JADC2</u>, Session Moderator: Dr. Michael Zatman, Principal Director for Fully Networked Command, Control, and Communications
- Space EMSO: C-C5ISRT, Session Moderator: Mr. Bryan Clark, Senior Fellow, Hudson Institute
- <u>Cognitive EW</u>, Session Moderator: Colonel William "\$" Young, Commander, 350th Spectrum Warfare Wing
- <u>Supply Chain</u>, Session Moderator: Mr. Alan Shaffer, former Deputy Under Secretary of Defense Acquisition and Sustainment
- <u>Standards & MOSA</u>, Session Moderator: Mr. Ben Peddicord, Branch Chief at CERDEC/I2WD
- <u>Unmanned/Uncrewed Systems</u>, Session Moderator: Mr. Dan Patt, Senior Fellow, Center of Defense Concepts and Technology, Hudson Institute

- <u>5G/NextG</u>, Session Moderator: Dr. Tom Rondeau, Program Manager, Strategic Technology Office, DARPA
- <u>Joint and Coalition EMSO Integration</u>, Session Moderator: Mr. Tim Grayson, Special Assistant to the SecAF for Mission Centered Analysis and Operational Imperatives

The Program Manager Series needs help with the Navy Panel, and no others actions are required at this time:

Army Panel: Mike Ryan POC

- Mr. Ken Strayer, Project Manager, Army EW and Cyber (confirmed)
- COL Gary Brock, ACM-EW, Capability Development Integration Directorate, Cyber Center of Excellence (confirmed)

Navy Panel: James Stewart, NSWC Crane

- Capt. Dave Reuter, PM, NAVAIR PMA-234 (AEA) (confirmed)
- Col. Tamara Campbell, PM, Naval Air Systems Command, PMA-272 (confirmed)
- CAPT Jason Hall, PM, PMS 208 (confirmed)
- Need help to contact:
 - o CAPT Kevin Moller, PM, Undersea EW PMS 435 (invited no response)
 - LtCol David Bain, PM, Intelligence Systems; Portfolio Manager, Command Element Systems, Marine Corps Systems Command

AF Panel: Lisa Fruge-Cirilli POC

- Mr. Tom Graves, Sr. EMS Technical Advisor, USAF AFMC AFLCMC/WNY (confirmed)
- Mr. Matt Bryant, Chief Engineer, Electronic Warfare & Avionics Division, AFPEO Agile Combat Support (confirmed)
- Col Jesse Warren, F-15 Senior Material Leader (confirmed)
- Col Corey Klopstein (confirmed)

Directed Energy panel: POC Mark Niece, DEPS

 Ken Miller working with Mark Niece to ensure all speakers are invited and confirmed by the end of August

Other areas needing Director support:

- VIP greeters Need 2-3 reliable board members for on-site greeting of our VIP speakers
- Marketing help Continue to push attendance on social networks as well as personal invitations. Send personal emails to your professional networks to encourage attendance!
- A large Speaker Lounge will require Directors to make themselves available at times.

CLOSING COMMENTS

President Carlson thanked Directors and Staff for a productive meeting that ended early. He scheduled a follow-on meeting on 23 August. He explained, that due to the recent AOC staff members that recently departed, the EXCOM made a decision to not proceed with all the plans and goals for the 2022 education, training, and certification program. Kathy Hartness, Event Consultant, will be stepping in to help out with this year's symposium.

It was **MOVED** and **SECONDED** (Bourque/Utt) to adjourn the meeting. **MOTION PASSED**. President Carlson **ADJOURNED** the proceedings at 1745E, 09 August 2022.

RESPECTFULLY SUBMITTED

Presented by the Secretary for APPROVAL by the Board of Directors on 15 September 2022.

Mark Schallheim, Secretary

09 August 2022